NEW BEDFORD — Election Day wasn’t exactly a nail-biter for many office-holders who will continue in their elected positions because they had no opposition on the Nov. 8 ballot.

District Attorney Thomas M. Quinn III effectively secured his third term and his ninth year in office two months ago, when he defeated fellow Democrat and former Bristol County prosecutor Shannon McMahon in the Sept. 6 primary race. He had no Republican challenger on the final election ballot.

Dartmouth state Rep. Christopher Markey’s re-election ran a similar course. He defeated Cameron C. Costa of New Bedford in the primary contest and faced no GOP challenger for the 9th Bristol District House seat.

Other candidates for local office ran unopposed in the final, with no primary challengers.

  • State Sen. Mark C. Montigny, D-New Bedford, was unopposed in the 2nd Bristol and Plymouth District.
  • State Rep. Christopher Hendricks, D-New Bedford, was unopposed in the 12th Bristol District.
  • State Rep. Antonio F. D. Cabral, D-New Bedford, was unopposed in the 13th Bristol District.
  • Democrat Joseph C. Ferreira of Swansea was unopposed for Governor’s Council  (1st District).
  • Democrat John T. Saunders of New Bedford was unopposed for Bristol County Commissioner.
  • Democrat Sherrilynn M. Mello of New Bedford was unopposed for Bristol County Register of Deeds.

Election 2022 coverage

The New Bedford Light provides in-depth analyses of the Nov. 8 elections and what lies ahead after voters made their voices heard.