City Hall

Money for Manny … and others on the city payroll

If the personnel ordinance goes into effect, Manny Maciel’s annual salary would jump from $81,730 to $120,447, according to the Department of Human Resources. At 58 years old, he has been with city animal control since 1997 and department head since 2001.


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.


Cuttyhunk ferry will stay at State Pier, stakeholders say

“A big part of what we’re trying to do will be enhanced by having additional ferry passengers, whether it’s Seastreak to Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket, or Jono’s [ferry] to Cuttyhunk. … We’re excited about the possibility of having Cuttyhunk operating at the State Pier for the long term.” — Ed Washburn, managing director of Coast…

Straus: State Pier development deal ‘done entirely in the shadows’

Behind the scenes, state legislators have been largely critical, not just of the proposal but of the eight-month selection process that they described as lacking in transparency and circumventing their authority in managing the use of the state-owned property.

Sign up for our free newsletter

Receive in-depth news stories and arts & culture coverage from around New Bedford in your inbox every weekday.


Give today to keep The Light shining. As a nonprofit with no paywall we rely on reader donations to fund our high-quality reporting.

New Bedford Light is an IRS-determined 501(c)(3) Public Charity; all gifts are tax-deductible. Our EIN number is 86-2407296.

Thank you to our sponsors

Founding benefactors: Irwin and Joan Jacobs, Mary and Jim Ottaway